It is official: I am now a driver for Lyft. If you are reading this and you are in New Orleans, get your smart phone out, delete Uber and download Lyft because there is a new Sheriff in town. Yea, sure, call me a loser. Wouldn’t be the first time I have been called a loser and it most definitely won’t be the last. I got thick skin. But why not earn a little extra cash to support my lifestyle?

My parents are claiming I spend too much of their money, I am working less hours at my real part-time job and I love to gamble. Add that up and what do you get? Me driving for Lyft. Up to $35 an hour just to drive people around and listen to the music I want to listen to.

It isn’t as easy as just clicking a button and becoming a driver that would be nonsensical. Chicken-shit’s would sign up to get paid to drive people around. So would candyasses. Hell, if I were a serial killer I would probably drive for Lyft if it were as easy as clicking a button. Instead, you have a half hour mentor session where they examine your vehicle, ask you a few questions and you drive around with them as if you’re 16 again taking you drivers test. I aced the interview, my 2017 Nissan Rogue is in tip top condition, I have a clean drivers record, I’ve only been arrested once and it was for disturbing the peace and I drove like a champion during the test. Boom, I am now a Lyft driver and I am going to start making some cash.

Funny thing is, within 48 hours I am being sent a case of water, gum and candy to put in my back seat for my riders. In theory, I could never drive for Lyft and get all that free stuff. Not so bad of an idea.

P.S. I’ve been accused of being biased towards the Patriots. Think Uber is better than Lyft, ask Richard Sherman what he thinks. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTE5xPKI9Wg

imgres

