Taking a week off of classes to party in Houston leading up to the Super Bowl and then watching the best Super Bowl ever isn’t exactly the smartest idea but some times the best ideas aren’t always the smartest ideas. Houston is a very cool city- great food and great people. It is fucking massive though. And there are like 14 major highways surrounding it. To go to a restaurant 4 miles away you need to go on 2 separate interstate highways it is wild. But before getting into my week today is bittersweet. Football is over now I don’t know what to do for the next 7 months. If only G-d allowed humans to hibernate.

 

The drive from New Orleans was not bad. It is 5 hours and you get to drive through the incredible, scenic and affluent cities of Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lake Charles and Beaumont before eventually arriving in Houston. While driving through Lake Charles I listened to the song “Up on Cripple Creek” on repeat which was a given if you know anything about good music and don’t fill your ears with modern day robot beats and fairy music or dub set or whatever it is called. I almost got robbed at a gas station 4 miles west of the border by a white dude with three teeth in his mouth it was frightening. Luckily he wasn’t carrying and I had my Colt .45 in my holster.

 

While in Houston I ate enough Tex Mex to turn a normal person’s stomach into the Louisiana swampland but my stomach is made from steel. I only went to one BBQ joint and ordered some elite brisket. I don’t trust anyone who doesn’t get hard/wet over the smell inside any legit BBQ joint. Upon arriving in Houston I drove straight to Kirby Ice House, an awesome, huge, indoor and outdoor bar that is 23+. They hosted the week long Barstool Sports Rundown aired live on Comedy Central. My date of birth is March 20th, 1995. Not really a math guy but I believe that makes me 21, 2 years younger than the ripe age of 23. I got in around 4 PM and it appeared there was no bouncer or security guard at the door so I just waltzed right in. Wrong. There was a security guard who approached me and before he could even ask for my ID I started sweet-talking for a few minutes. I showed him my personalized stretchy wristband that just said VIP. I made him laugh a couple of times and told him I needed to hang but I was only 21.

 

The guy examined my license and said he would be right back. Right back turned into 15 minutes finally after waiting and hoping, he came over to me shakes my hand and says “Diego. Come on in Jake you are welcome here at Kirby for the week”. Im like hell yea he then throughout the week started referring to be as “my dude”. I will give Kirby Ice House a 10/10 review, smoking hot bartenders, great crowd and two separate big bars stocked with a tremendous selection of beer. They have wild food trucks; one night my dinner consisted of sliders with waffle fries as buns and a side of two corndogs. The “Jake Diet” took the week off but as I am writing this I am cooling off after a run.

 

On to the game itself. No need for postgame analysis. No need to debate whether or not the Patriots won or the Falcons lost. Both of those things are true because the scoreboard said 34-28. Can you believe the Patriots covered the spread after being down 25 points midway through the 3rd quarter? It was also great that I didn’t watch at a party and was drinking 18-dollar beers so fortunately I remember each and every play. Tom was terrific in the 4th quarter and OT and one thing I will note about the game is the Falcons coaching staff acted like they did not belong on the same field as the Patriots’ staff. I say this for that one drive late in the game. Julio Jones makes an incredible catch to get to the Patriots’ 22 yard line. Instead of running the clock out and kicking a field goal with one of the best Kickers in the league to make the game unwinnable for the Patriots, they send Matt Ryan on a 5-step drop back pass and he was sacked for a 12-yard loss. Next play there is a hold followed by an incomplete pass. Falcons out of field goal range, punt and the rest is history.

 

Watching Roger Goodell hand the Kraft the trophy and hearing the entire stadium erupt with BOO’s will be a moment I will never ever forget. Apparently, on TV, fans couldn’t even hear what Goodell was saying because it was so loud. Patriots Nation showed up. So did the team, eventually. “One More” and “One For the Thumb” now turns into “One for the Other”. We are on to 2017.

davis_good2_spts

